Thank Goodness for Steve Goodman

Dad and I have been having a bit of a silly tiff lately.  I don’t even remember what started it, but it has gone on for three or four days.  Tonight, I put my iPod on while I was cleaning up after dinner and Steve Goodman started singing “My Old Man.”  When he sang “I would give all I own to hear what he said when I wasn’t listening” I almost broke down.  I did put everything down and walk over to him.  I gave him a hug and said simply “I love you Dad.”  Neither of us is good at this sort of sentimental stuff, but he just looked at me and said “Always Jim, Always.”

Thank goodness for Steve Goodman.

And of course without Steve, we might not have Todd Snider who gave us “sometimes growing up, I think I’m getting wiser and other times I think I’m getting old.”

Sorry for the shakes in the video, it’s the best copy I could locate on short notice tonight.

Leave a Reply

